Following on from the success of our inaugural Barista Bursary, we were delighted to be able to offer it again for 2017. After meeting with some very talented people we made the decision to award the BTB Barista Bursary 2017 to Darryl Docherty from Dear Green Coffee, Glasgow. Here at Beyond the Bean we are long time supporters of UKBC; we are on the UK Chapter committee, have held various WCE positions, judged the competitions and also know how to host a great heat. Basically; we know the competition and we recognised a great competitor in Darryl.

From left: Mat North, Diana Johnston, Darryl Docherty, James Shepherd, Brian Williams

From left: Mat North, Diana Johnston, Darryl Docherty, James Shepherd, Brian Williams

The BTB Barista Bursary was created because as well as knowing the competition, we know the sizeable costs competing in the championship can bring, which can mean talented baristas are in danger of being excluded. We wanted to find the best of the budding barista talent out there who would benefit most from our support with some help from a great panel of judges.

For 2017 we invited back the first BTB Barista Bursary winner, Diana Johnston, to help us with the judging. When we spoke with Diana about the bursary here is what she had to say:

“One of the biggest reasons that baristas do not compete is the financial strain that competition can cause. The other major reason is a lack of support, and guidance throughout the process. The bursary allows the competitor to remove these obstacles, in turn providing them with the opportunity to be creative.

The BTB Barista Bursary was one of the best things that happened to me during my time as a competitor, and I sincerely recommend it to anyone wishing to compete. I was able to free my mind and focus more on enjoying the competition process, whilst learning more about coffee in general.”


To keep up to date with the latest news on the BTB Barista Bursary 2017, sign up for our newsletter.

For more information about the UK Barista Championships, and what is involved, visit scae.com.


Our 4 judges are Diana Johnston, Mat North, Brian Williams and James Shepherd. Together they have earned good reputations in the industry and have a solid knowledge of the UKBC competition and all things coffee. You can learn more about them here.


BTB barista bursary